Day 27: Research – Idea 2

My second idea for editing our film was to utilise something called rotoscoping. I initially found out about this concept during a talk with Central Saint Martin lecturer. I was particularly interested in how a simple illustration could convey many words and meanings. However, I wanted to take a different perspective to rotoscoping by drawing on stills during the film.

This initial idea developed from a series of processes. One being the flip book and two the element of stop motion. I really enjoyed the stop motion experiment and how it created an animated motion, in order to take this factor further after effects could be used.

Here are a series of examples that I found particularly inspiring:

After reviewing these videos I began to experiment with our film.

Could this support our film? Or obstruct the content?

Leave a Reply

